Upcoming show

Utopia

18 October 2019
21 December 2019

Tornabuoni is pleased to present ‘Utopia’, an exhibition conceived in collaboration with the architect and designer Charles Zana. Continuing its program of collective exhibitions devoted to the Italian cultural panorama from the 1950s to the 1980s, Tornabuoni Art will be the stage of an imaginary dialogue between artists and designers who, despite their different upbringings, ambitions and conceptual investigations, remain connected by creative synergies. The artworks and design pieces presented will reveal the common aspirations and experimental spirit of this visionary generation who sought to reimagine Italy in the decades following the War.

‘Utopia’ brings to light for the first time the links between many artists and designers: Gino Sarfatti and Paolo Scheggi, Carlo Scarpa and Dadamaino, Enrico Castellani and Nanda Vigo, Michele de Lucchi and Alberto Burri, to name a few. Mario Ceroli will have a room dedicated to its art, at the frontier at the two disciplines.

Whether they are linked by a similar vision of time, a concern for the role of man in nature and space, or a shared poetic vocabulary that connects the profane and the sacred, these pairs of Italian architects and artists in this exhibition will reveal their extraordinary ability to disrupt the boundaries between art and design. Their imaginary dialogues challenge the traditional division between these two disciplines by showing that ideas about aesthetic value, functionality and decoration are enriched by the connection between these two neighboring artistic forms.

Exposition à venir

Utopia

18 Octobre 2019
21 Décembre 2019

Tornabuoni Art a le plaisir de présenter « Utopia », en collaboration avec l’architecte et designer Charles Zana. Poursuivant son programme d’expositions collectives consacrées au panorama culturel italien des années 1950 à 1980, Tornabuoni Art sera le théâtre d’un dialogue imaginaire entre artistes et designers qui, malgré́ leurs différences de formation, d’ambitions et de recherches conceptuelles, restent liés par des synergies créatives. Peintures et sculptures révèleront les aspirations communes et l’esprit expérimental d’une génération visionnaire qui a cherché à réinventer l’Italie dans les décennies qui ont suivi la guerre.

« Utopia » met en lumière les liens entre de nombreux artistes et designers : Ettore Sottsass et Giorgio De Chirico, Carlo Mollino et Lucio Fontana, Gino Sarfatti et Paolo Scheggi, Carlo Scarpa et Dadamaino, Enrico Castellani et Nanda Vigo, Michele de Lucchi et Alberto Burri, pour n’en citer que quelques-uns. Une salle entière sera dédiée à l’artiste Mario Ceroli, dont l’art se situe à la frontière des deux disciplines.

Que ce soit une même vision du temps, une même préoccupation de la place de l’homme dans la nature, une même insouciance ou profondeur ou un même vocabulaire poétique qui relie le profane et le sacré, ces architectes et artistes italiens révèlent dans cette exposition leur extraordinaire capacité à bouleverser les frontières entre l’art et le design. Leurs dialogues imaginaires remettent en question la division traditionnelle entre ces deux disciplines en montrant que les idées relatives à la valeur esthétique, la fonctionnalité et la décoration se trouvent complexifiées par la reconnaissance de la connexion entre ces deux formes artistiques voisines.