Current exhibition

Alberto Burri

19 October 2018
12 January 2019

In line with its tradition of research and dissemination of the work of the artists who fostered a radical change in Italian art, propelling it from the Modern to the Contemporary era, Tornabuoni Art dedicates its upcoming show to the work of Alberto Burri. More than 30 works by the artist will be exhibited in Tornabuoni’s space in the Marais, reconstructing the artist’s entire career, from its origins in a prisoner of war camp in Hereford, Texas (1946) to the “Cellotex” series of the 1990s, and including the “Sacchi” of the 1950s, the “Legni”, “Ferri” and “Combustioni” of the 1960s and the “Cretti” of the 1970s.

More than forty years after the last retrospective devoted to the artist in France (the most recent was held at the Musée National d’Art Moderne in 1972), the exhibition traces the revolutionary journey of an artist who is considered a point of reference for artists of his generation in Europe and the United States. Alongside seminal figures such as Lucio Fontana, Yves Klein and Robert Rauschenberg, Alberto Burri reinvented the language of abstraction that developed after the Second World War.

Born in Città di Castello (Umbria) in 1915, Alberto Burri was always interested in art and drawing and, as a young man, admired the work of Piero della Francesca, which can be found in the area near his home. However, he trained as a doctor before being called up for duty in the Italian army. Captured in Tunisia in 1943, he was sent to a prisoner-of-war camp in Texas where he rediscovered his passion for art. Initially creating figurative paintings on burlap sacks, he soon turned to other forms of expression. By 1948 his creations had become more abstract and experimental: he began using unorthodox materials such as tar, Vinavil and sand, followed by burlap. Using the raw material as subject matter in its own right, he made his first Sacco, assemblages out of distressed, stitched and sutured burlap sacks, which quickly became the artist’s best-known series.

Burri became known as the ‘artist of wounds’, a label which informed the successful retrospective of his works at the Guggenheim Museum, New York, in 2015: ‘Alberto Burri: The Trauma of Painting’. As his art evolved, he focused increasingly on creating a material meditation on form and its transformative processes. Dissolved by fire, corroded or consumed by time, the material of his works is destroyed by the same artistic gesture that transforms it, leaving a residual image. By working with unprecedented techniques, applying chaos and control in his artistic practice, and by using everyday and prefabricated materials, Burri severed all links with the traditional painting of his time.

However, in spite of the strongly independent, conceptual and formal character of his creations, Burri had ties with some of the major artistic movements of his time and influenced many of the avant-garde movements. As such, his work is inscribed in a constant artistic dialogue with his Italian colleagues, particularly Lucio Fontana, as both artists sought to transcend the tangible surface of the canvas by puncturing it. These efforts were a direct response to the existential anxiety felt by many Post-War European and American artists at the time. By exploring a wide range of unconventional processes and non-traditional materials, Burri invented a new genre of object-painting and influenced Process Art and Arte Povera. His works made out of re-used and re-cycled materials such as plastic, metal, wood and burlap sacks, made a strong impact on artists including Robert Rauschenberg and Cy Twombly, who both saw the artist’s work in Rome.

Exposition en cours

Alberto Burri

19 Octobre 2018
12 Janvier 2019

Tornabuoni Art, fidèle à sa tradition de recherche et de diffusion de l’œuvre des maîtres qui ont fait basculer l’art italien du moderne au contemporain, dédie sa prochaine exposition au travail d’Alberto Burri. De ses débuts au camp de prisonniers de guerre au Texas (1946) jusqu’à la série des « Cellotex » des années 1990, en passant par les « Sacchi » des années 1950, les « Legni », « Ferri » et « Combustioni » des années 1960 et les « Cretti » des années 1970, plus de trente œuvres retraçant la carrière de l’artiste seront exposées.

Plus de quarante après la dernière rétrospective consacrée à l’artiste en France (Musée National d’Art Moderne, 1972), l’exposition présente la carrière révolutionnaire d’un artiste aujourd’hui considéré comme un point de référence fondamental parmi les artistes de sa génération en Europe comme aux États-Unis. Alberto Burri est, aux côtés d’artistes tels que Lucio Fontana, Yves Klein et Robert Rauschenberg, parmi ceux qui ont réinventé le langage de l’art abstrait au lendemain de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Né à Città di Castello (Ombrie) en 1915, Alberto Burri montre un intérêt pour l’art et le dessin dès son plus jeune âge, admirant notamment les œuvres de Piero della Francesca dans sa région. Il étudie cependant la médecine avant de s’engager dans l’armée italienne. Il est capturé en 1943 en Tunisie, et est envoyé dans un camp de prisonniers de guerre au Texas. C’est là qu’il commence à peindre les paysages qui l’entourent. Il se consacre d’abord à la peinture figurative sur des supports en toile de jute, avant de se tourner vers d’autres formes d’expression. Dès 1948, sa peinture est déjà essentiellement abstraite et expérimentale : il commence à travailler avec des matériaux peu orthodoxes tel que le goudron, le Vinavil, le sable et la toile de jute. Utilisant le matériau brut comme objet d’art à part entière, il crée son premier Sacco, un assemblage de toile de jute déchirée, cousue et suturée, qui devient rapidement la série la plus célèbre de l’artiste.

Burri devient connu sous le nom « d’artiste des plaies », une étiquette à l’origine de la célèbre rétrospective de 2015 au musée du Guggenheim à New York : « Alberto Burri : The Trauma of Painting ». Au fil de son évolution, la production artistique de Burri se concentre de plus en plus sur une réflexion autour du matériau en lui-même, et de ses processus de transformation. Dissous par le feu, corrodés ou consommés par le temps, les matériaux de ses œuvres sont détruits par la même gestuelle artistique qui les transforme, et dont l’image résiduelle est perceptible dans l’œuvre elle-même. En travaillant de manière novatrice, oscillant entre chaos et contrôle dans sa pratique artistique, et en utilisant des matériaux pauvres et préfabriqués, Burri rompt avec la peinture traditionnelle de son temps.

Malgré le caractère indépendant de ses concepts et créations, Burri a des liens avec les courants artistiques majeurs de son temps, et influence de nombreux mouvements avant-gardes. Son travail s’inscrit également dans un dialogue artistique constant avec ses confrères italiens, particulièrement Lucio Fontana, alors qu’ils cherchent à transcender la surface tangible de la toile en la perforant. Leur réflexion répond alors à l’anxiété subjective et existentielle de la peinture d’après-guerre. En explorant une large gamme de procédés et de matériaux atypiques, Burri invente un nouveau genre de peinture-objet et influence directement les mouvements du Process Art et de l’Arte Povera. Ses œuvres créées à partir de matériaux réutilisés et recyclés tels que le plastique, le métal, le bois ou encore la toile de jute ont une forte incidence sur des artistes tels que Robert Rauschenberg et Cy Twombly, qui voient son travail à Rome.