Previous exhibition

Alberto Biasi

09 March 2019
30 March 2019


Opening on 9 march, Tornabuoni Art Paris will have the pleasure to present an exhibition dedicated to the Italian artist Alberto Biasi. Organized in close collaboration with the artist’s studio, the show will explore the major role the artist played, and continues to play, in the Kinetic art movement. Gathering emblematic artworks of Biasi experimentations on movements, which he started as early as 1959, the show attests of the artist’s will to question the traditional conception of painting by challenging the “classic” perspective and focusing his attention on retinal experiments and visual effects of his works on the spectator.

Born in 1937 in Padua, Alberto Biasi cofounded the Gruppo N in 1959 with Ennio Chiggio, Toni Costa, Edoardo Landi and Alfredo Massironi. Alongside them, he conducted his first “optico-dynamic” experiments that brought him to participate in 1960 in exhibitions dedicated to lumino-kinetic art beside Enrico Castellani, Piero Manzoni and artists of the New Artistic Conceptions and Nouve Tendenze movements. A common characteristic of these artists is their willingness to challenge both the definition of art per se and the role of the spectator in the perception of the artwork: one is not only a passive viewer but an active part of the artwork itself. Halfway between scientific experimentation and aesthetic revolution, the works of Alberto Biasi are three-dimensional, vibrant and glistening. Even though some are mobile, others are mere optical illusions using scientific principles of exact science and phenomenology.

Exploring more than fifty years of artistic production, the exhibition will present various works of the artist including some Rilievi ottico-dinamici (Optico-dynamic reliefs) in which lights and lines intertwined and are illusively perceived as being on the same plan, although spaced by a few centimeters in reality. Some Torsioni (Torsions) will also be exhibited, their canvases entirely cut in stripes before being recomposed in various forms and twist, thus giving the illusion of geometric configurations in motion. More contemporary artworks, created after the dissolution of the Gruppo N in 1967, will equally be presented, in which more figurative forms and color are gradually appearing, and which demonstrate the beginning of the artist’s more personal research. These artworks constitute a synthesis of Biasi’s production, whose multiple exploration have contributed to the recognition of Kinetic art all over the world.

Indeed, in addition to twelve exhibitions with the Gruppo N, including “The Responsive Eye” at the MoMA in New York (23 February – 25 April 1965) and numerous solo shows, Biasi’s work has been presented at the Venice Biennale since 1960, the Sao Paulo Art Biennial, the Rome Quadriennale and most recently in the “AZIMUT/H Continuità e nuovo” exhibition at the Peggy Guggenheim Collection in 2014. His work is also part of several museum collections, including those of the Centre Georges Pompidou in Paris and the Galleria Nazionale d’Arte Moderna in Rome.

Exposition à venir

Alberto Biasi

Ouverture le 09 Mars 2019


À partir du 9 mars 2019, Tornabuoni Art Paris aura le plaisir de présenter une nouvelle exposition consacrée à Alberto Biasi. Organisée en étroite collaboration avec le studio de l’artiste, l’exposition explore le rôle majeur que Biasi a joué, et continue de jouer, dans le mouvement de l’art cinétique. Rassemblant des œuvres emblématiques de toutes les expérimentations sur le mouvement que Biasi débute dès 1959, l’exposition témoigne de la volonté de l’artiste de remettre en cause la conception de la peinture traditionnelle et notamment l’utilisation de la perspective dite « classique », en s’intéressant exclusivement aux phénomènes rétiniens et aux effets possibles des œuvres sur les visiteurs.

Né en 1937 à Padoue, Alberto Biasi cofonde le Gruppo N en 1959 avec Ennio Chiggio, Toni Costa, Edoardo Landi et Alfredo Massironi. À leurs côtés, il entame ses premières expériences « optico-dynamiques » qui l’amènent à participer dès 1960 aux expositions consacrées à l’art luminocinétique avec Enrico Castellani, Piero Manzoni et les artistes de la Nouvelle Conscience Artistique et du mouvement Nuove Tendenze (Nouvelles Tendances). Ces artistes ont pour caractéristique commune la volonté de questionner à la fois la définition de l’art en tant que tel mais aussi le rôle du spectateur dans la visualisation de l’œuvre : celui-ci n’est plus seulement spectateur mais participe à la création. À mi-chemin entre expérimentation de laboratoire scientifique et révolution plastique, les œuvres de Alberto Biasi sont tridimensionnelles, vibrantes et chatoyantes. Si certaines d’entre elles sont bel et bien mobiles, d’autres sont des illusions d’optique reprenant les principes scientifiques des sciences et de la phénoménologie.

Explorant plus de cinquante ans de création artistique, l’exposition présentera différents travaux de l’artiste, dont des Rilievi ottico- dinamici (Reliefs Optico-dynamiques) où se mêlent lignes et lumière, perçues de façon illusoire comme étant sur le même plan alors qu’espacées de quelques centimètres. Des œuvres Torsioni (Torsions) seront également exposées, dont le support entièrement découpé en lamelles a été recomposé pour créer des formes et torsions diverses, donnant ainsi l’illusion de configurations géométriques en mouvement. Des œuvres plus contemporaines créées après la dissolution du Gruppo N en 1967, seront également présentées, dans lesquelles s’immiscent progressivement des formes plus figuratives ainsi que de la couleur, et qui démontrent le début de recherches plus personnelles de l’artiste. Ces dernières œuvres représentent une synthèse de la production de Biasi, dont les recherches multiples ont contribué à la reconnaissance de l’art cinétique partout dans le monde.

En effet, en plus de douze expositions avec le Gruppo N, incluant « The Responsive Eye » au MoMA de New York (23 février – 25 avril 1965) et de nombreuses rétrospectives personnelles, le travail de Biasi a été présenté à la Biennale de Venise depuis 1960, la Biennale d’art de São Paulo, la Quadriennale de Rome et plus récemment à l’exposition « AZIMUT/H Continuità e nuovo » à la Collection Peggy Guggenheim en 2014. Son travail fait également partie de plusieurs collections muséales, dont notamment celles du Centre Georges Pompidou à Paris et la Galleria Nazionale d’Arte Moderna à Rome.