Previous exhibition

ALIGHIERO BOETTI

03 February 2017 - 06 April 2017

Tornabuoni Paris is proud to announce the opening of its new gallery with the largest-ever retrospective of the work of Alighiero Boetti (1940-94) shown in a private gallery. Located in the iconic Passage de Retz in the heart of the Marais and its vibrant art scene, this 17th-century mansion provides a spectacular setting.

The Boetti retrospective features work spanning from his early ink drawings, to pieces related to the Arte Povera movement, the Bollini (stickers), Lavori Postali (postal works), Aerei (airplanes) and Biro (ballpoint pen) series, important works on paper and the artist’s iconic embroideries. The revolutionary aspect of Boetti’s work was to radically question the role of the artist and the impact of chance, sequence, language, repetition and authorship in the creation of a work of art. Encompassing his entire career, this show illustrates the breadth of Boetti’s influence and the significance of his work within contemporary art.

This important retrospective follows a smaller show at Tornabuoni London, which focussed on the Muro (1972-93). It is the second in a trio of Boetti exhibitions organised by Tornabuoni that mark over 20 years of collecting and exhibiting the work of Alighiero Boetti. The Boetti trio culminates in a major exhibition at the Fondazione Cini in Venice on the occasion of the 57th Venice Biennale opening in May 2016. MAXIMUM/MINIMUM, curated by Fondazione Cini director and Peggy Guggenheim Collection chief curator Luca Massimo Barbero, will bring together for the very first time the largest and smallest formats of all of Boetti’s series of works.

fleche-avenir fleche-passe

Exposition en cours

ALIGHIERO BOETTI

03 Février 2017 - 08 Avril 2017

Tornabuoni Paris a le plaisir d’annoncer l’ouverture de sa nouvelle galerie avec la plus importante rétrospective jamais réalisée sur l’œuvre de Alighiero Boetti (1940-94) par une galerie privée. Situé dans le célèbre Passage de Retz au cœur de la dynamique scène artistique du Marais, l’hôtel particulier du XVIIème siècle constitue un cadre spectaculaire.

La rétrospective de Boetti montre des œuvres de ses premiers dessins à l’encre de Chine, aux œuvres associées à l’Arte Povera, les Bollini (autocollants), Lavori Postali (œuvres postales), Aerei (avions) et Biro (stylo-bille), d’importantes œuvres sur papier et les célèbres broderies de l’artiste. L’aspect révolutionnaire de l’œuvre de Boetti est d’avoir remis en question le rôle de l’artiste et l’impact du hasard, les séquences, le langage, la répétition ainsi que la notion d’auteur lors de la création d‘une œuvre d’art. Retraçant toute sa carrière, l’exposition illustre l’ampleur de l’influence de Boetti et l’importance de son œuvre au sein du panorama artistique contemporain.

Cette importante rétrospective s’inscrit à la suite d’une exposition articulée autour du Muro (1972-93) à Tornabuoni Londres. Il s’agit de la seconde dans un trio d’expositions sur Boetti organisées par Tornabuoni, qui marque plus de 20 ans de collection et d’exposition de l’œuvre d’Alighiero Boetti. Le trio de Boetti culmine avec une exposition monumentale à la Fondazione Cini à Venise à l’occasion de la LVIIème Biennale de Venise qui sera inaugurée en mai 2017. MAXIMUM/ MINIMUM, sous la direction de Luca Massimo Barbero, Directeur de la Fondazione Cini et Chief Curator de la Peggy Guggenheim Collection, rassemblera pour la toute première fois, les formats maximum et minimum de toutes les typologies d’œuvres de Boetti.

fleche-passe